#167 What is Amrit?

June 5th, 2016

Category: Uncategorized

Waheguru Ji Ka Khalsa, Waheguru Ji Ki Fateh Jio,


Associates of Sant Baba Isher Singh Ji Maharaj (Rara Sahib Wale) asked them to explain what Amrit is and how many types of Amrit there are. Sant Ji Maharaj replied –

“In the house of Guru Nanak Dev Ji Maharaj there are two types of Amrit. The first one is the one that is accessible to all during the Amrit Ceremony. The second type of Amrit is obtained by Gursikhs who search for this treasure within themselves. 

Just as a castle has two doors – the first is outside which is guided by a guard, and the second is in which the King and his courtiers are assembled. One can easily pass the first door and then rightfully claim to having entered the caste and can even engage with the inhabitants of the castle. However in order for one to obtain company with the King one has to first pass the second door too. 

Whoever desires only to enter the castle, has no further purpose than to pass the first door. However, he who doesn’t wish to simply spend his lifetime in the castle’s entrance and wants to exceed further, does his utmost best to pass the second door.

In relation to this, there are two doors in the house of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji Maharaj. By consuming the Amrit that is prepared via the Khanda (double-edged sword) one is surely able to enrol themselves as a Gursikh, however in order to achieve what is the spiritual level of a Gurmukh or a Khalsa, one is to obtain this inner Amrit through Simran Jugti. In experiencing the bliss of this inner Amrit, he himself becomes the form of the immortal nectar and so is immortal himself.”

Please forgive us for any mistakes.

Waheguru Ji Ka Khalsa, Waheguru Ji Ki Fateh Jio

No comments yet

Leave a Reply